Do I Need to Report a Car Accident in New Jersey?

Accidents happen. Stay calm and read on to find out if you have to report your accident. Here are some frequently asked questions about accidents and reporting them.

Are you legally required to report an accident in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, the driver of a vehicle that was involved in a car accident must report the crash if it:

  • resulted in injury to or death of any person, or
  • caused damage to property owned by any one person in excess of $500.

Proline recommends reporting ALL accidents no matter how minor it may be to protect yourself. With an accident report you will not be fined or have your license potentially suspended.

How soon must I report the accident?

The driver should report the accident right away, but the State of New Jersey requires a written report (SR-1) be submitted to the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) within 10 days, if an officer has not been to the scene of your accident.

What if I don't report the accident right away?

If you are physically incapable of making the report due to injury or other reasons, you should have someone let officials know. The law does not explain exactly what will happen if not, but you should always cover yourself and any occupants you may have in your vehicle.

Should I report the accident to my insurance company?

No state requires its drivers to report an accident to their car company. It may a be a legal obligation depending on the terms of your car insurance policy, and if the vehicle is owned by a leasing or finance company. If the claim is minor, with damage being around $500, we would not recommend it as it may raise your insurance rates. Consult the underwriting department of your insurance company to find out!

Should I report the accident to my insurance company?
No state requires its drivers to report an accident to their car company. It may a be a legal obligation depending on the terms of your car insurance policy, and if the vehicle is owned by a leasing or finance company. If the claim is minor, with damage being around $500, we would not recommend it as it may raise your insurance rates. Consult the underwriting department of your insurance company to find out!

You have reported the accident.. What’s next?

Reporting a car accident may be just the first step. For everything else you need to know, check out out the steps involved getting your car back to pre-accident condition.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *